Bananas for Breakfast

Bananas are a nutritious snack any time, thankfully, my kids absolutely love them! I remember as a kid eating sliced up bananas with a little sugar and milk on them, and I have passed this treat on to my kiddos. (seriously, you should try it, its yummy!)

Despite how much we enjoy this fruit, we often end up with over-ripe, black bananas. You know the ones. They are past the point of being edible. Hard to peel because they are pretty much mush. And if you do get the peel off, they pretty much just ooze through your fingers. Well, did you know that this is when their flavor is at its best for baking? This is a recipe we use a lot to make use of those nasty old things, luckily the result is much more ap-peel-ing (pun intended) 😉

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Mix together the following in medium-sized bowl:
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup quick oatmeal

In another bowl, mix:
1 beaten egg
1 cup milk
3 Tbsp oil (I use canola)
2-3 mashed over-ripe bananas

Add milk mixture to flour mixture. Stir until just moistened. Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full. (If you use muffin papers instead of greasing the pan, just know, that these are moist and it can be hard to peel the paper off)

Mix the following using pastry blender or 2 knives:
1/4 cup sugar
4 tsp flour
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp butter

sprinkle this topping on each muffin. Bake at 375° for about 20 minutes.  Remove from muffin pan and allow to cool, then top with this simple glaze recipe (measurements are approximate)

1 cup confectioners sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

enough water or milk to make a consistency good for drizzling.

This is the result

IMG_0399

These muffins aren’t overly sweet, unless you really go crazy with the glaze.  They are great for breakfast with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk.  With the oatmeal and bananas, it sticks with you longer than some sweet breakfast treats!

I hope you get a chance to try these, I think you will enjoy them!

 

Now that we have breakfast in our bellies, I want to give you a sneak peek at my baby quilt:

IMG_0380

I have it all layed out, and just started sewing the pieces together this week.  Remember that this is the one for baby #4.  I also have another quilt that is all set up in my quilting frame, ready to be quilted.

Let’s just say, I’ve felt pretty productive this week.  Now if that can just continue, I’ll be doing good!

Now finally, I want to share a little funny with you….

Being in my last month of pregnancy, I am getting to the point where getting out of my seat isn’t as easy as it used to be.  This morning I was sitting, reading a book to my 4 yo W, and when I went struggled to get up I asked him:  “Why is Mommy so old?”

W: “You’re not!” at this point, I’m thinking, awww, such a sweet boy, then he adds: “You don’t have a cane yet.  When you do, then you’ll be old”

Oh the life through the eyes of a little one!

I’d love to hear from you about projects, recipes, etc…just leave me a comment below!  Have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Bananas for Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Fancy Banana Bread (with Cream Cheese Filling!) | Creating My Niche

  2. Pingback: Anyone Want Waffles? | Creating My Niche

Leave a comment