This Year, I Will……

What is it about the beginning of a new year that gives us the urge to change? With the striking of midnight, we are all given a fresh start, a clean slate, maybe even a “do over” in a sense. With that in mind….

I haven’t posted earlier about making a resolution because, honestly, I don’t really like the word “resolution.” It sounds too official. I also wanted time to think about my goals for this year. So many of my goals normally involve my housekeeping habits. I also tend to go overboard, setting myself up for failure. I like the idea of achieving my list of goals, but, to make matters worse, I am a bit of a procrastinator. Okay, I AM a procrastinator. There I said it. I’m the “why do it now, when I can wait until tomorrow,” kind of person (hmmm, I think I may have found one of my goals for this year).

Considering the above statements revelations,  I have decided that this year I will set more realistic goals.  I think it will work to break them into three categories:  Family & Faith, Home, Hobbies.  That should cover almost everything I want to accomplish (at least I hope so!).

 Family & Faith

This is of course the most important aspect of my life, it contains all that I love most ❤

1. Bible Study – both for myself and my children.

This is actually a repeat goal for the last 3 years or so.  Last year was the first I succeeded, but in ’13 I intend to complete my second year through the entire bible.  How?  I found this awesome podcast called the Daily Audio Bible.  They are on iTunes, or you can find their website here.  I can’t say enough how amazing it is.  It has already changed my life and my views of things, I can’t wait to make another journey through the Good Book!

Bible study for my children is a goal I am building on from last year.  Last year I would write a verse on our dry erase board (chore/daily schedule board), that we have in the kitchen.  My boys are very eager to learn the verse along with how to look it up in the bible.  This year I would like to add lessons on some of the easier to understand stories from scripture.

2.  Study time with W

W is my youngest son.  He is going to be five in April.  I want to set aside time to study the identification and writing of his letters and numbers.  He will start kindergarten this fall and I want him to be ready.  Plus he loves playing “school” so this might be my easiest goal of the year!

3.  Be an available wife/mom

This is also an ongoing goal.  I want to limit the times I say “in a minute, ” “I am busy,” or “not now,” when I am needed.  Sounds simple, right?  Think about how often you say a phrase like this to someone.  I know I am guilty.  I know there will be times it is unavoidable, but these are the most important people in my life.  If I can stop what I am doing and help them, won’t that help them feel important?  Most of the time, the help they need only takes a few minutes, and they are worth all the time in the world!

Home

My husband and I built our own home and have lived in it for almost 11 years now.  My how time flies!

1.  Organization

With three boys, ages 8, 6, & 4 (and baby 4 on the way), things can get cluttered.  FAST.  Every room has a unique need for organization.  My main focus this year will be our Office/Toy Room. FYI, if you ever think of combining these two things in one room, I have one word for you:  DON’T!!  It is pure chaos.  I will also focus on my boys’ rooms.  Some times I think our toys multiply over night, because we run out of places to store them.  So there will be a lot of purging taking place in the first few weeks/months of this year.  Having less to organize & a finding a place for what we do keep will make my next goal even easier…..

2. Cleaning Schedule

Having less things to put away (thanks to the above goal), should make cleaning time less.  I hope.  Plus the boys are getting old enough to help a little more.  Yay!  I am going to work on implementing a cleaning schedule that is easier to maintain than the one I tried in the past.  My friend at The happy, homeschooling, Hoosier housewife, shared a website called justmommies with her followers.  They have a daily/weekly/monthly cleaning schedule that is a great place to start.  I also found The FlyLady to be a great resource for cleaning schedules and tips.  I plan on taking aspects from both and creating a schedule that works for me.  I hope later this year to share what I come up with!

Hobbies

Let’s start with saying I have too many.  If I began listing them all, you would think I’ve lost my mind.  I am hoping with the accomplishment of the above “Home” goals, I will make better use of my time, and, as a result, have more time for my hobbies!  I have one main, big, gigantic, huge goal.  Did I mention it’s B-I-G?!?  Drum roll, please…..

#1 SCRAPBOOKING!!!!!

Ok, that may have been a bit excessive.  Maybe.  Just a little.  But I take a bazillion pictures each year.  This figure is not exaggerated, it is an exact count.  Scientific even.  😉  I have to get caught up scrapping the pics I have taken and quick.  I make good progress for a while, then slack off and end up further behind.  (eh hem, can you say procrastinate????)  I need WILL get caught up this year.  I will do so, by setting aside time each week to scrapbook.

 

My final goal is to quit procrastinating.  Procrastination has been a habit of mine for as long as I can remember.  This does not really fit into any of the categories I listed, but it is a goal. Probably one of the most important, because with this accomplished, I can achieve the rest of my goals so much easier.  Plus I will be setting a better example for my family.

 

So there you have it.  FINALLY, my goals for 2013!  That in itself is an accomplishment, don’t you think?  Writing them out for all to see makes it seem more important.  Gives me more accountability.  I hope at the end of this year, I can write a post detailing how I reached all my goals!

What about you?  Have you set any goals for 2013?  I would love if you would share a couple with me!

Oh! I almost forgot!  You can now visit Creating My Niche on Facebook, by clicking here!

4 thoughts on “This Year, I Will……

  1. I love your blog! Look forward to reading it nightly after work! Here’s to some scrapbooking and fellowship sometime before you have that baby!!

  2. Pingback: Save Time, Make a Menu | Creating My Niche

  3. Pingback: What Did I Do in 2013? | Creating My Niche

  4. Pingback: Goals? Let’s Get Real… | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

