The Un-Brownie

Do you love chocolate?  I absolutely do!  You could cover just about anything in chocolate and I’d eat it. And if it’s dark chocolate? There’s just no passing that up!

Sometimes I have to put my love, ok my obsession, with chocolate aside.  I need to try recipes that don’t have chocolate as their main ingredient (gasp!).  Like yesterday.  I was having company for lunch and thought I’d whip up a simple dessert.  I checked my supplies only to find that I was out of cocoa.  Oh, no! That means no brownies.  So, instead I decided to try a recipe for blonde brownies.

By the way, I don’t like the fact that they are called blonde brownies.  They just aren’t that brown.  So we will call these Blondies instead.  Here is the recipe…..

Blondies

IMG_0328

2/3 cup butter, melted

2 cups packed brown sugar

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup chopped pecans

2 beaten eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

semi sweet chocolate chips

Mix butter and sugar together in a large bowl and set aside.  The butter will cool while you prepare the dry ingredients.

In another bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, & salt (I use a whisk, instead of actually sifting the ingredients together).  Stir the pecans into the flour mixture.

Add the eggs and vanilla to the butter mixture.  Then gradually add the flour mixture into the butter mixture.  Do not over beat.  The batter will be thick.

Spread (you really do have to spread, remember it’s gonna be thick!)  into a greased 9×13 pan.  Sprinkle the desired amount of chocolate chips on the top.  Mine looked like this…..

IMG_0326

 

Bake in a 350° oven for approximately 30 minutes, depending on oven. A toothpick should test almost clean in the middle.

 

The finished product….

IMG_0331

 

This recipe was definitely a hit!  I suggest you give it a try 🙂

Which do you normally prefer?  Brownies or blondies?

 

 

Leave a Reply

