Cast Iron Burger

Did you ever receive something as a gift, love it, and then try to come up with more opportunities to use it? Enter my new cast iron grill pan, a most excellent Christmas gift from my husband!

 

IMG_0362

 

This new skillet feeds my love for two things. Cast iron and grilling.

I don’t know about you, but I love cooking with cast iron. The problem was, I had one ginormous, cook-for-an-army sized skillet, that is primarily used for pan-frying chicken. And one cook-for-myself sized skillet, used mostly for cornbread. Of course, neither of these were efficient when preparing a meal for a family of five.

What’s cool about cast iron, is, if seasoned properly, cast iron can be used much like a non-stick skillet. An extra bonus is it’s ease of stove-top to oven cooking. It can take the heat, so to speak.

Now on to the grilling aspect. We are sort of a crazy family and enjoy grilling year round. Yes in snow. Rain. Wind…..nothing will stop us, uhhh, well except for a broken grill. So having a grill pan will satisfy that yearning for grilled foods. Only now they will prepared from the warm, comfort of the kitchen.

So now back to my mission, to create more opportunities to use my newest kitchen addition. How about some burgers? But not just a simple burger, let’s add some extras, okay?

This recipe was “created” with the help of my oldest son R. He’s 8 and LOVES to help in the kitchen! It goes something like this:

1 1/2 lbs ground beef (I prefer ground chuck quality meat, not too much fat content)
2 dill pickle spears, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp mustard
1/4 cup A1 Steak sauce

Mix together and form into about 6 (1/4 lb) burgers. Cook to desired doneness, then top with swiss cheese.

We also sautéed some button mushrooms and a sweet onion to serve up on top, and served on a whole wheat bakery bun. It was delish!

You, of course, could add in any special ingredients you like. What would you mix up in your burger?

4 thoughts on “Cast Iron Burger

  1. Pingback: Save Time, Make a Menu | Creating My Niche

  2. Pingback: How ’bout Them Buns? | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

