Recipe Chaos

Hi everyone!  I hope this week is treating you well!  Today, in an attempt to work towards my Home goals of organization & scheduling, as I described in my January post “This year, I Will…,” I am working on creating a meal plan.  My idea is to give the plan a trial run, then create an actual menu board using an idea I found on Pinterest.

Sounds easy enough, right?  Well I don’t know about you, but I’m a bit of a recipe addict.  Okay, more than a bit, I should probably go to a support group or something.  And Pinterest?  Well that just fuels my addiction.  As a result, my recipe box looked like a cookbook exploded inside of it.  So today when I sat down to make the meal plan, I realized that I need to deal with my mess first. *sigh*

In attempts to do so, I went through my entire recipe box, and purged.  Yes, I know, I can’t believe it myself.  I went through the entire box, recipe, by recipe.  The recipes had to fall into one of these categories:

1. Tried & True – these we have made before and already love.  These are allowed to remain in the box.

2. Why do I have this? – recipes, that for some strange reason ended up in my box, but I have absolutely NO intention of making.  EVER.  Who cut these out any way? ….. These were tossed.  Immediately.

3.  Need to try – recipes that shouldn’t be in the box yet.  They need to be tested and given the family’s approval.  The recipes in this category were moved to my binder full of those waiting for approval.

My recipe box looked so much better just after sorting.  Next I typed up the recipes and printed them on 4×6 index cards, so they fit nicely in my box.

I am so relieved to have this finished!  It is something that needed to be done for a loooong time.  If you haven’t done this lately, or ever (like yours truly), I highly suggest doing it!

Now I just need to get to work on my meal plan!  There will be the initial time investment in getting it set up, but it will save time in the long run.  I will detail the steps I take in preparing the plan as I go so I can share them with you in a future post.

Do any of you make meal plans?  Weekly?  Monthly?  I’d love to hear your ideas, just leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “Recipe Chaos

  1. This a great idea! I need to start working from recipes a little more. I just throw things together and sometimes…it doesn’t work out! I do menu plan, but only stick to it about half the time.

  2. Pingback: Save Time, Make a Menu | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

