Can a Crock Pot End the Insanity?

Last week I sat down and created my first menu plan for our family.  This week is it’s official trial run.  I am pretty excited about it!  It didn’t take nearly as long as I thought, and it also made my grocery shopping more productive.  In my planning, I looked ahead to our week and tried to schedule easy meals for our busy days.

Enter: the crock pot.

Normally gathering dust on my shelf, only to be unveiled on a very rare occasion.  But not anymore.  I anticipate it being very handy in my menu planning adventures.  Let me explain….

Monday is always a busy day for my family.  This is when R. has guitar lessons.  So that means my housework time is limited because I have to pick him up at school, instead of him riding the bus.  It also means, since lessons are 30 minutes from our house, that by the time we get home, supper time is quickly approaching.  THIS is when the insanity normally commences.  Homework, kids chores, preparing dinner, and any other random occurrence you can possibly imagine.  And thinking of this, triggered my lightbulb moment…I will use my crock pot!!  I will find easy recipes, dump it in, and with a few (maybe even no) finishing touches, I will be able to have supper on the table quickly.  YAY!

Since this is the one kind of recipe I don’t have a stockpile of, I will get to try a lot of new recipes.  If they are good, you might just see me share some 🙂

Up first (last night’s meal):

Crock Pot Sante Fe Chicken (thank you Pinterest!)

1 1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast

14.4 oz can diced tomatoes with mild green chilies

15 oz can black beans

8 oz frozen corn

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

14.4 oz can chicken broth

3 scallions, chopped

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp cumin

cayenne pepper to taste

salt & pepper to taste

Dump all ingredients (except chicken) into crock pot.  Give a little stir.  Lay chicken pieces on top, season with salt and pepper.

IMG_0370

Cook on low for 10 hours or high for 6 hours.  Half an hour before serving, remove chicken and shred.

TIME SAVER:  Put chicken in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix on 4-5 for a few seconds, your chicken will look like this:

IMG_0372

 

Return chicken to crock pot & stir in.  Adjust seasoning if necessary and allow to cook remaining 1/2 hour.

 

IMG_0373

(P.S. Notice anything missing??  I forgot to add the corn and it still tasted good!!)

We served this over rice and garnished with sour cream.  I of course added hot sauce, but then I eat that on almost everything!

This meal was a hit with the family and has officially taken up residence in my recipe box.  Give it a try, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

And an answer to the question, “Can a Crock Pot End the Insanity?”…. YES, I believe it can!!

What do you do to make supper less stressful for your family’s busy nights?

One thought on “Can a Crock Pot End the Insanity?

Leave a Reply

