Spice it Up

It’s Valentine’s Day, right?  So why not spice things up a bit…..in the kitchen that is!

I’m excited to try new recipes, especially when they are good and I can share.  This week, I’ve been lucky enough to try two new recipes.  The first was a crock pot meal, that you can find here.  The second was a shrimp dish.  Now I don’t know about you but raw shrimp scare terrifies me.  I have NEVER cooked it before, always using pre-cooked shrimp and tossing it with pasta, or eating with some sort of dipping sauce.  But I like shrimp.  I like tacos.  I love spicy.  So, as I’m throwing the empty Land O’ Lakes box away I see it:  Sweet & Spicy Baked Shrimp Tacos!”  How could I not try it?  Sounds tasty, right?!?  Here’s the recipe:

Sweet & Spicy Baked Shrimp Tacos

Spice Mixture

1/3 cup sugar

3 Tbsp packed brown sugar

2 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp plain breadcrumbs

1/2 tsp ground allspice

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp ground red pepper (the spicy in the recipe!)

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp ground ginger

Shrimp

1/4 cup melted, unsalted butter

1 lb uncooked, thawed, medium shrimp

Sauce

1/2 cup sour cream

1 Tbsp lime juice

2 tsp chopped fresh cilantro

1/2 tsp chili powder

Tacos

6 inch flour tortillas (about 10)

2 cups coleslaw mix

Heat oven to 500.  Line baking sheet with aluminum foil, set aside.

Combine all the spice ingredients in a small bowl.  Dip the shrimp into melted butter, then spices.  Place on baking sheet.  Bake for 5-6 minutes or until the shrimp are pink and the coating is bubbling.

While shrimp is cooking, mix up the sauce ingredients in a small serving bowl.

To make the tacos:  use one tortilla, a few pieces of shrimp, and about 1/4 cup slaw mixture.  Drizzle sauce over top.

A tip, if you don’t like spicy food:  either lessen the amount of red pepper, or eliminate it totally.

I was pleasantly surprised with how the slaw tasted on the tacos!  It is a bit unusual, but totally the right choice in my opinion.  I have to say even my three boys enjoyed this. I am also happy to say, that family approval on this means another recipe with permanent residence in my recipe box!

Now it is Valentine’s day, so you definitely need a sweet treat to follow up your meal.  If you want something simple & tasty head over to Fellow Does Fab for a great truffle recipe!  It’s chocolate, so therefore, it’s good!

I hope you have been enjoying the recipes I share.  I am hoping that since my cleaning schedule has been so helpful (and flexible), that I can start sharing a wider variety of things with you soon!  But for now, it’s Thursday.  The first day this week I’ll be home all day (of course it’s still morning!).  I have a menu to plan and a grocery list to make!

I hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day filled with love and happiness!

Don’t forget to stop by and say “HI” on Facebook or Twitter !

“One is loved because one is loved.  No reason is needed for loving.” ~Paulo Coelho~

Leave a Reply

