Mexican Flavor Made Easy

Hi all! Just thought I’d take a few to share an easy Mexican-style dish with you.  I mentioned that I made this recipe last week to my Facebook followers, and they requested I share!

This is great to make the night before a busy day. My husband and kids love it, and although we started calling in Mexican Lasagne, it is actually called Mexican Manicotti! I found this years ago in a Taste of Home magazine, and it has been a staple in our home ever since. Here it goes…..

Mexican Manicotti

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 can (16 ounces) refried beans
  • 2-1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 package (8 ounces) uncooked manicotti shells
  • 2-1/2 cups water
  • 1 jar (16 ounces) picante sauce
  • 2 cups (16 ounces) sour cream
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack or Mexican cheese blend
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions
  • Sliced ripe olives, optional (but extra tasty!)

In a large bowl, combine the uncooked beef, beans, chili powder and oregano. Spoon into uncooked manicotti shells.  (I think it would also work to fill a pastry bag and using only the coupler, squirt the mixture into the shells.)  Then arrange in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. I always have a little of the meat mixture left over that I just spread on top of the shells in the pan.  Next mix together the water and picante sauce and pour over shells. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking, so your dish doesn’t shatter when you place it in the flaming hot oven 😉 Cover and bake at 350° for 1 hour. Uncover, then spread sour cream over the top. Sprinkle with cheese, onions and olives. Bake until the cheese is melted.   It serves about 8 adults.

I have to say, that it doesn’t look very pretty coming out of the oven, but don’t let looks fool you, it tastes really good.  I like to serve it with some salsa or a side of guacamole (a great way to sneak in some good-for-you vegetables for the kiddos!).

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do!  Do you have any recipes for great make-ahead meals?

Have you followed Creating My Niche on Facebook or Twitter yet?

Leave a Reply

