Internet Inspiration and Creating a Keepsake

Since the birth of my little girl, during the end of March, my activity has been limited.  Oh so limited.  No stairs, no lifting, no driving…..And my sewing room is at the top of the stairs that I’m not supposed to climb. If only I could’ve made it up there, I would be sewing like a mad person. But since that can’t happen, and I don’t watch a lot of tv, I turned my attention to the internet, mainly Pinterest. I have spent  way, way, WAY, more time on there than what is healthy normal. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy seeing all the creative ideas, crafts, recipes, etc. I can easily waste ridiculous amounts of time paging through and pinning things that I find interesting. You know, the exact reason I try to limit my time on there as much as possible.  Over the last couple of weeks, though, I have pinned more things than I can count. Racking up recipes to try, crafts to do, items to sew, and on, and on. With all that inspiration, I just can’t wait to get started, and share my experiences with you!

While I continue to dream over the next few days, of what I get to do in the very near future, maybe I should move on to the real point of today’s post (no it’s not just for me to ramble on about Pinterest)….

In February, I shared with you my love for sewing and previewed an upcoming project.  I couldn’t wait to get started, and of course wanted to be finished before my baby was born.  I am soooo proud to say, I accomplished that goal!  Barely.  I was finishing up two days before I was scheduled to deliver, but I was finished just the same, and I was able to bring my baby home wrapped in the quilt I made for her 🙂

I wasn’t able to create a tutorial out of this project because the quilt was not my own design, but I fell in love with the pattern when I saw it, and knew I had to use it for my baby’s first quilt.  I actually found the pattern in the December 2012 issue of  American Patchwork & Quilting.

Deciding what kind of fabric to use was just as easy as picking the pattern.  I can’t explain why, but I am a huge fan of 1930/40s reproduction prints.  So with the yard requirements in hand, I headed out to a somewhat local quilt shop to pick my prints.  This is what I chose, with a little help from my 4 yo W…..

IMG_0361

Cheery, don’t you think?

The quilt was composed of a lot of tiny squares.  Did I mention tiny??  This is the sixth baby quilt I’ve made, but none of them had so many pieces!  This will give you an idea

IMG_0380

It felt like I was piecing forever, but eventually I was able to do the handquilting and binding.  It is such a great feeling to tie off on the last knot at the end of a project.  Talk about a feeling of accomplishment!  Oh and here’s the final product…..

IMG_0048

I hope my baby girl enjoys having this keepsake as much as I loved being able to make it for her!  I love being able to give handmade gifts!

Do you enjoy giving/receiving handmade gifts?  Do you have a favorite?

Don’t forget to connect with me on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a comment