Fancy Banana Bread (with Cream Cheese Filling!)

Let me start by saying, my family loves banana bread. Pretty much every bread recipe in the world makes two loaves, right? Well when I make banana bread, there is usually some left that doesn’t get eaten.  I always thought it was because eventually you just get tired of eating it (you know, two loaves and all). Until now. After I made this, I knew immediately that it is the most delicious banana bread I have ever tasted. Ever.

I’ve seen a few versions of this floating around the web, none of which site a source. But at any rate, I made a couple changes to the version I found, so there it is:

 

IMG_0365

 

Fancy Banana Bread
(with Cream Cheese Filling)

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
3 Tbsp Sour Cream
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3 mashed, ripe bananas (the blacker the better!)
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350, grease two loaf pans and set aside.

Cream together the sugar and butter. Add eggs, mix well. In a separate bowl mix the sour cream and baking soda, then add to sugar mixture. Add the salt, bananas, flour and cinnamon, mix until just blended. Add the nuts and stir.

Filling:
8 oz cream cheese
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1 Tbsp flour
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all topping ingredients together in a small bowl.

Now spread one-fourth of the batter into each loaf pan.

Spread half of the filling mixture, on top of the batter, in each pan.

Finish off by dividing the remaining batter evenly between each pan.

Mix together 1 Tbsp sugar, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and sprinkle on top of each loaf.

Bake for approximately one hour, check for doneness.

 

I actually made two batches of this starting Thursday afternoon.  Every last teenie tiny crumb was devoured by Monday morning. Yes, you did the math correctly, that means 4 loaves. Since there are 5 people in my house that can actually eat it (only two of which are adults), that means that we each ate close to an entire loaf. Each! I always say all things in moderation, obviously we need to revisit that definition……

Look here for another recipe using over-ripe bananas:

Bananas for Breakfast

 

 

8 thoughts on “Fancy Banana Bread (with Cream Cheese Filling!)

    • Holy cow! How did I miss that?? It’s 1/2 cup of butter.

      It looks like I missed eggs too, so add 2 eggs! Thanks so much for bringing this to my attention! I updated the post so it should be correct now!

      I hope you enjoy the bread as much as my family does 🙂

  1. Pingback: Nuts for Zucchini Bread | Creating My Niche

  2. Pingback: Anyone Want Waffles? | Creating My Niche

  3. Pingback: Cream Cheese Banana Bread Recipe

Leave a Reply

