Who I Am: May Edition

DSC06495

Where have the months gone?  It’s May 1st already.  If time flies when you’re having fun, then 2013 is totally a party!

I started the “Who I Am” series in February, and have been doing pretty good at remembering.  That is, if you forget last month when I was late.  But, hey, I just had a baby, give a girl a break.  I had some much important baby holding/spoiling to do! 🙂

This month I am continuing to share with you some of my interests.  I picked photography.  Am I a professional? Absolutely not (typed as I laugh to myself).  It’s a hobby.  I take pictures of EVERYTHING.  One might say I am a photographaholic.  My friends would probably tell you this is an understatement.  I love pictures.  I also find it stressful to throw any pictures away.  Yours, mine, a complete stranger’s.  Doesn’t matter.  It can be a blurry thumb picture.  I keep them.  I probably need a 12-step program for it or something.  But because of the harassment help of a close friend, I am getting better!

I have been taking pictures for as long as I can remember.  I actually learned from my dad.  He was the picture-taker in our family.  When I was little he let me use his big, fancy camera (I was little, it seemed complicated, therefore “fancy” in my young mind).  I did pretty good I guess, because my parents actually bought me a 35mm (I feel old) camera.  They probably thought it was a good idea.  That was until they had to buy the film and then have the pictures developed (even the blurry ones that I wouldn’t throw away).  That poor little camera took more pictures than it was probably prepared to do.

I suffered through another 35mm, then finally, in 2004 I bought my first digital camera.  I never looked back.  Being able to take as many pictures as I want is amazing!  I, of course, love taking photographs of my family, but I also enjoy scenery and nature pictures.  I have even been honored enough to take senior pictures for two nieces and will soon be taking them for one of my nephews!  I love that my hobby can also help others.  Being able to preserve memories this way is amazing!

I thought you may be interested in the kind of pictures I take.  I looked through some photos on my computer and found some I enjoy, and thought maybe you would too…..

A Day Lily in my garden:

DSC02349

The Great Smoky Mtns

DSC01172_00193                        DSC01170_00191

The Old Mill, Pigeon Forge, TN

DSC01195_00209

A baby raccoon that visited my yard:

DSC00802_00047

Steam engines at a local antique farm machinery show:

DSC03559

Like I said, I am not a professional by any means.  I just love taking pictures.  And that’s what a hobby is about; something you enjoy doing so much, you’ll do it for free 😉

For more about my interests, check out the past “Who I Am” posts:

Who I Am: February Edition

Who I Am: March Edition

Who I am: April Edition

7 thoughts on “Who I Am: May Edition

  1. Pingback: Who I Am: June Edition | Creating My Niche

  2. Pingback: Who I Am: July Edition | Creating My Niche

  3. Pingback: Who I Am: July Edition | Creating My Niche

  4. Pingback: Who I Am: August Edition | Creating My Niche

  5. Pingback: Who I Am: September Edition | Creating My Niche

  6. Pingback: Who I am: October Edition | Creating My Niche

  7. Pingback: Who I Am: December Edition a.ka. The Last One! | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

