Chicken Pot Pie, Anyone?

IMG_0382 (2)

My kids have been begging me to buy chicken pot pie.  I made the mistake of buying the frozen, pop-in-the-oven pie when I was suffering from morning sickness.  It’s salty, processed and of course my kids loved it. I don’t know about you but I try to limit my processed foods as much as I can without going to extremes. I just feel better serving my family food when I know what the ingredients are and how to pronounce them. My answer? If I can make it from scratch I often do.

I remembered making chicken pot pie in the past, but it had been a while.  Once I decided to add it to my weekly menu, I started thinking about how to go about making it. I looked through some recipes, suggestions, and tried to recall what I did the last time (because I didn’t write it down, despite my husband’s frequent suggestions any time I make a new recipe). This is the result…

Best Ever Chicken Pot Pie

IMG_0381 (2)

2 unbaked pie crusts for 9″ pie plate

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed

2 – 12 oz pkgs frozen mixed vegetables

2 tsp chicken bouillon

1/3 cup chopped onion

1/3 cup butter

1 tsp poultry seasoning

1/4 tsp celery seed

1/3 cup flour

2/3 cup milk

salt and pepper

Heat oven to 425°. Put the chicken and one bag of veggies in a pot and fill with water until just covered. Boil for 15 minutes. Drain, reserving 2 cups of broth (to make gravy). Add 2 tsp bouillion to broth, stir and set aside until later.

In a skillet heat butter, add onion, cook about 2 minutes. Add the poultry seasoning and celery seed continue cooking until onion is tender. Stir in flour. Slowly add reserved broth. It will get lumpy, keep stirring, it will get better. Slowly add milk. Continue cooking/stirring until mixture thickens; about 1 minute after mixture begins to boil.

Now you need to mix together the chicken, vegetables (adding the second bag of veggies at this time), and gravy. Add salt and pepper to taste. I used a large mixing bowl for this part; do what works for you!

Pour mixture into the prepared bottom pie crust. Cover with the top crust, seal edges, and cut a slit for steam to escape.

Bake until nicely browned, about 30 minutes. Let it sit for a few minutes, then slice and serve!

A couple of side notes: 1. I used frozen vegetables, but you could substitute any variety fresh or frozen that you prefer. 2. Your favorite pie crust recipe will work great, but if you prefer, you could use frozen crust

And there you have it, a tasty substitute for a frozen food favorite!

Don’t forget to find me on Facebook and Twitter!

I haven’t been able to get in my sewing room for a week now, but I promise an easy sewing project is coming!  I am also going to be starting a new quilt for R (my 8 yo), that I can’t wait to share!

What new recipes have you tried?  Are you working on any crafty project?  I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie, Anyone?

  1. I can’t wait to try this…I will confess, my go-to recipe tends to include cream of celery soup, so i like the flour-milk roux here + the celery seed. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Save Time, Make a Menu | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

