A Mother’s Worry

I’m a worrier. I admit it. I think I always have been. In college it was actually so bad I began having anxiety attacks.   Not fun. I worry about a number of things. Some unimportant, some silly, some serious. I’m proud to say that I do so much better now than when I was younger. I have learned to realize that there are some things that I just cannot change, and so there is no use in worrying. Maybe that’s why I have always been fond of this prayer…..

image

It pretty much sums up how one should look at the world. And a majority of the time this way of thinking has given me much relief. Thankfully.

Then I became a mom. Four little lives dependent on my husband and me for their every need. Reason to worry? Definitely. And I do, but not as often as the old me would have. I have grown stronger in my faith. I have a husband to lean on and help me. I have strong, healthy, beautiful children. We are blessed.

Of course being a mom means that worry never completely leaves you. I try to be strong for my family.

Today I face a test, albeit small, it’s still a test. Our youngest son W, has to have a tooth worked on at the dentist. They say it didn’t form correctly, causing rapid decay. He, of course, is oblivious to what will happen. I have told him the dentist will fix it and that he needs to listen to him and be good. He replied with an upbeat “ok Mom!” I worry.

He is excited about going to the dentist. His tooth hurts and they will make it better. I worry. I have always been afraid of the dentist (for absolutely no reason). I don’t want to pass this fear on to my children. I worry some more.

I know many parents face much more terrifying and difficult things with their children. I know that tomorrow my worry will be silly. But I’m a parent. A mom, and so still I worry.

My worry reminds me what the Good Book says:

“And which of you by worrying can add even one hour to his life?” (Matthew 6:27)

And so I say a little prayer for my little man.

I pray that all goes smoothly and he leaves his appointment as upbeat and unafraid as he arrived.

I. Pray.

10 thoughts on “A Mother’s Worry

  1. Thanks to bad genetics my youngest had to have two dental surgeries before he was three. He had to go fully under, it wasn’t fun. He did great though, so I’m sure that your son will too 🙂 I’m a worrier also so I completely understand!

    • Thanks so much for the kind words of encouragement! I can’t imagine going through that and I bet you’re glad it’s over!

      W was so brave. He cried and I did have to help hold him still (he is only 5). But I honestly think I was more traumatized than he was! I was in “mommy-mode” and wanted to save him. He was mad because he didn’t want to lose his tooth! Ha! Kids are great 🙂

  2. As a mom we worry quite a bit about our kids, much more than necessary sometimes but it all goes with the territory. You’re on the right path of praying though and I’m sure that God will answer your prayers. Wishing you all the best at the dental visit. Visiting from BloggyMoms from Growing Up Madison. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Being Mom | Shawn M Weisser

  4. Pingback: Helped by the Unexpected | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

