Fried Zucchini – Making the Summer-time Treat Easier

Zucchini is one of the most versatile vegetables you can grow. It can be baked, fried, grilled, used in breads, cookies and muffins, it can be pickled, or eaten raw.  All of these uses plus it being so easy to grow, means it’s a must-have in our garden every year!

At my house we enjoy fried zucchini and bread above the rest.  For fried zucchini I used to slice it thin, dip in egg, and breading, then fry until crisp. This was so incredibly time-consuming! Plus, since I’m the one preparing it, I was the last to sit down, which meant I ate cold, soggy, fried zucchini. Good, but not as good as hot and crispy!  I didn’t want to give up my seasonal favorite, so I had to think of something!

My solution produces fried zucchini, all finished cooking at the same time. Crisp, hot, and best of all tasty!!  Here is what I came up with….

Easier Fried Zucchini

1 medium-sized zucchini
2 small eggs
Flour
Corn meal
Salt and pepper
Oil

Cut the zucchini into 1/2 slices, then cut each slice into 4 pie-shaped pieces. Put in a large bowl.

Beat the two eggs with a splash of water and stir into the zucchini, until well coated.

Mix equal parts flour and cornmeal, then add to zucchini and toss to coat. (Start with about 1/4 cup each, as you can always mix up more.)

Fry zucchini (including any bits if breading that accumulated in the bottom of the bowl) in canola (or vegetable oil), seasoning with salt and pepper. Cook until crisp and well browned. Enjoy!

What is your favorite way to enjoy zucchini?

Watch for my upcoming post featuring zucchini bread!

One thought on “Fried Zucchini – Making the Summer-time Treat Easier

  1. Pingback: Nuts for Zucchini Bread | Creating My Niche

Leave a Reply

