Nuts for Zucchini Bread

Zucchini again?  Well, yes.  In my area the weather has provided us with a bumper crop of zucchini.  So far, I have shredded and froze 24 pints to use for making bread through the winter.  I have also made 9 pints of zucchini relish!

So as promised, I am here to share with you a recipe for zucchini nut bread.  This is my family’s favorite version of this recipe.  It is moist and has just the right amount of flavor!

IMG_0934

 

Moist Zucchini Nut Bread

3 eggs, beaten

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil (or canola)

2 cups shredded raw zucchini, well-drained (seeds removed)

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup chopped pecans

Hint:  I shred my zucchini in the food processor.  It stays dry and doesn’t need to be drained this way!

Mix the eggs, sugar & oil thoroughly.  Add the zucchini.  In a separate bowl mix the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.  Add flour to sugar mixture, reserving about a 1/2 of a cup in the bowl.  Mix.  Then stir in the vanilla.  Add the chopped nuts into the reserved flour mixture.  Toss to coat, then add to batter and mix until blended.  Don’t over-mix, as it will cause your bread to fall.

Pour into two greased loaf pans.  Bake at 325° for about 50 to 60 minutes.  A toothpick inserted will come out clean when it is done!  Let it cool before slicing.  It can be left plain or topped with your favorite glaze or cream cheese icing!

If you like this recipe and would like to try another similar one, try my Fancy Banana Bread.  If you’re like me and have a plethora of zucchini to deal with, then you might also be interested in my take on Fried Zucchini!

How is your garden harvest looking this year?

Keep up with all my latest recipes and tips.  All you need to do is follow Creating My Niche on FacebookTwitter, or by email (just click “Enter Email” to your left)!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

