I Need Marshmallows in My Hot Chocolate

Brrr!  It’s still “fall” here in the midwest, but you couldn’t tell it by looking outside.

IMG_1607

Old Man Winter has decided to make an early appearance.  Which, quite frankly, happens pretty much every year.  The only people who seem surprised by it are the meteorologists.

Having snow for us, often leads to the start of the school day being delayed, or in the case of both Friday and today, canceled.  A snow day can only mean:  snow ball fights, building snow forts, sledding….and getting cold!  And what better to remedy the cold of wintry weather, than a steaming cup of hot chocolate, topped with marshmallows!

But, what do you do when you don’t have marshmallows?  I don’t know about you but I need marshmallows in my hot chocolate!!

Well, it is something I’ve always wanted to make.

But, I don’t have corn syrup.  Most recipes call for corn syrup. 😦

So I turned to the web for a recipe using only sugar.  Yay for me, I found one!!

The recipe I used is on food.com, you can find it here.

I followed the instructions word for word (almost!).  It was easy….and I took pictures to further illustrate the steps.

I buttered the pan so the powder sugar would stick (the butter part I added because I wasn't sure the sugar would stick otherwise!)

I buttered the pan so the powder sugar would stick (the butter part I added because I wasn’t sure the sugar would stick otherwise!)

After transfering the mixture from the pot to the bowl, it should look like this.

After transferring the mixture from the pot to the bowl, it should look like this.

After mixing for approximately 10 minutes, it looked like this.  I decided it was ready to pour into the pan!

After mixing for approximately 10 minutes, it looked like this. I decided it was ready to pour into the pan!

After it was poured in the pan.  Now just wait until it sets up. (It will, I promise!)

After it was poured in the pan. Now just wait until it sets up. (It will, I promise!)

IMG_1614

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1617

IMG_1616

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve decided after today, that hot chocolate is waaaay better with homemade marshmallows!  It was unbelievably easy to make these, I really hope you give it a try!

Maybe next time I’ll try mint extract instead of vanilla….or maybe strawberry….or….

What do you do to warm up from the winter’s cold?

P.S. Here is a recipe for AAAA-mazing hot chocolate!

Leave a Reply

